A beautiful song and homage to corn tortillas and women who make them. I hadn’t heard of Lila Downs and now I’m a fan.  I love that she sings in lots of the languages of Mexico, not just Spanish. And I love that all the women in this video are beautiful, not just the lead singer herself!  I’m intrigued at the balance between pop music and something more serious and interesting.  And I like the sampling of different musical styles. Here I am, dancing in my chair.  I hope you will enjoy this too.

I saw this on Root Simple, a wonderful blog “about back to basics, DIY living, encompassing homegrown vegetables, chickens, herbs, hooch, bicycles, cultural alchemy, and common sense”– I reckon many of my readers would like it too.

My friend Laura in Mexico tells me– a comalito is a small comal, or griddle.  And she sent me this link about archaeology, comals and cuisine.

How I would love to eat a homemade corn tortilla like these , today on this rainy day in the Welsh spring, when the closest I can get to Mexican food is the TOP TIP that using brine from sauerkraut (and other fermented vegetable melanges) is a great way to keep your Guacomole a bright, attractive green. (Such is the life-giving force of the microbiological energy of these lacto-fermented potions.)

Here’s an article on the Precautionary Principle and genetic pollution in old maize varieties in Mexico.    One of the reasons I cannot support genetic “modification”/”engineering.”  There is no turning back once the damage is done.

And here’s the English translation of the lyrics, as also found on the Root Simple site.

The beautiful people of this land
Grind corn
A miracle of their hands
A yellow shine I saw
In a basket she carries gold
Soft corn gold
In a basket she carries gold
Soft corn gold

It’s over… my suffering is over
There’s no more evil… there’s no evil that can last a hundred years
Little dove fly and tell her
That I’m here to kiss her hands
Little dove fly and tell her
That I’m here to kiss her hands

Cu,curu,cu,cuu,curu,curu, cu,cu

Little dove sing about the miracle
About the dough, about the smoke of this comal
You who drank my tears
Of crystal grains
You who drank my tears
Of crystal grains

And miracles of this land
And women whose hands give nourishment
She who invites even though she may have nothing
And fights for the things that are really worthy
She who invites even though she may have nothing
And fights for the things that are really worthy

Little dove sing about the miracle
About the dough, about the smoke of this comal
You who drank my tears
Of crystal grains
You who drank my tears
Of crystal grains

Translation from http://lyricstranslate.com/en/palomo-del-comalito-dove-comalito.html#ixzz2yRI9IePq

