IMG_9409

A quick post.

SO GOOD.  A few months ago I began a fermentation of jalapeño peppers, just cut in half, with some garlic– you know, salty brine etc. etc. etc.  Impulsively I added some garlic scapes, the stalk with the unblossomed flower head that you take off your garlic so energy stays in the bulb.  I enjoyed making spirals of the long stalks, laying them in the jar,  kept them under the surface of the water with a glass weight, and then, truth be told, forgot about that jar.

Well the Jalapeño-infused Scape is one of the most delicious, mildly hot, surprising crazy pickle I’ve had!

And so fun to eat, or rather, to gobble as it descends a bit, centimetre by centimetre, like a snake, which of course when long it looks like.  Here’s just a fragment in a horse-shoe shape to show you, and actually, to remind myself in the future to make this again.

REALLY EASY, REALLY DELICIOUS.

