IMG_5527

At table top sales… car boot sales … small community events, one still encounters a kind of selling of traditional home-made preserves.  It doesn’t call itself “local food” or “artisan” but it is both, and it’ll be sad if this practice dies out, or becomes something fancified, and less small-scale.  I also love the re-using of jars.  

This was yesterday in Welshpool, in the town hall, and I bought her £1.50 Pickled Shallots, which she grew in her garden. We shall probably eat them with chips. She was also offering her own pickled eggs (from “good eggs,” she said, available to buy in the market), marmalade, and loganberry and gooseberry-strawberry jams among others.  I always try to buy something, when I have the opportunity, from tables like this.  She was a very nice lady!  And I thank her for letting me take and post her picture.

A while back I wrote about Men and Hens, blokes who are really into breeding chickens and purveying eggs.  Love it.

IMG_5530

Amidst all the processed, global junk food in the Costcutter at the petrol station in Newtown, there’s this stand for delicious, old-time Talerddig bread.  What a wonderful sight to behold!  Often one sees locally grown and processed meats– pork, ham, bacon– in Petrol Stations around mid-Wales as well. I like this sales model used by Neuadd Fach Baconry. Right there in the places you wouldn’t expect small businesses to have a foothold.

IMG_5367

This is a shot of something I love, when you come across an “honesty box” with food.  I took this in a tiny village in Pembrokeshire in which there were no shops anywhere nearby. The people were offering neighbours and passers-by a convenience, some of the food local (the eggs), some of it probably bought in in bulk and therefore saving other people the car journey.  There were daffodils too.

