IMG_5607

This is for my friend who asked for recipes that I might imagine too simple and obvious: an easy Waldorf Salad variation if you are empowering your digestive microbiota with fermented foods in as many dishes as possible.

I’ve been really enjoying making Kefir Cheese.  This one I “decorated” with mustard cress and dandelion petals, so pretty.

IMG_5602

Inspired by Container Gardening, I’ve developed a penchant for growing my cress in this broken, discarded toy:

IMG_5593

I’ve been liking the idea of buttermilk and Ranch dressings, which are more or less buttermilk, oil and vinegar, perhaps with herbs and/or onion in one form or another– so many recipes to be found on the web.  And delicious on green salads and potato salads.

Waldorf Salad dressing is often basically one of these, thickened with mayonnaise. The Kefir Cheese in front of me somehow spoke all at once to buttermilk, sour cream, yoghurt, mayonnaise… and I decided to dilute a tablespoon or so with some olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and salt and pepper.

IMG_5604

It was a dressing that then just desired a little sweetening with honey, and of course a fresh herb like parsley would have been great. No rules, just inspirations, and to your own taste regarding creamy, tart, salty, etc.

For this dressing then, a salad with apples, celery, walnuts, toasted sunflower and pumpkin seeds and chives.  I wish there’d been some watercress in there, or some kind of bright peppery green.  Maybe some radishes, in which case green apple might be good. The simplicity and contrast of colour seems to matter. Slice spring onions would be pretty.  Delicious, easy food.  A crunchy, happy, filling salad.  Kids will probably like it too.

.   IMG_5606 (1)